Skip directly to content

Concerto per Traversa o Violino principale, Archi e Basso [RV 430]

The main source of Concerto RV 430 is a manuscript of the score (copyist C. Graupner), online available at Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek, Darmastadt (Mus ms. 411/1, RISM ID no. 450003286). A second source, available in the same library, is a modern transcription by Friedrich Noack, (Mus. ms. 1730). The basso continuo realization in the second movement was transcribed from this second source. Note that this concerto, sometimes tagged as 275a, is a rework with a different second movement of violin concerto RV 275. The first part is indicated as "Violino Principale o Traversa". In fact, in the two outer movements, the part does not contain chords and uses the extension d1-e3 (with one exception in Tutti of the first movement) and may have been written for the flute rather than for the violin.
Sample page — 140x
Sunday, May 8, 2016
Release notes: 
Version 1.0

Post new comment